ESGO Helga Salvesen Award for the Best contribution in Translational research


In commemoration of Prof. Helga Salvesen, ESGO Council member, member of ENTRIGO and founder of ENITEC,  the ESGO Council decided to initiate the biannual ESGO Helga Salvesen Award for a major contribution in translational research in 2017, prior to the ESGO Congress.


This award is meant for a clinician or translational researcher who made a significant contribution to translational research in gynaecological oncology in the past few years.

ESGO Helga Salvesen Awardee 2022:

"It is our great pleasure to announce that this year the award will be given to Prof. Iain McNeish from the Imperial College London, Department of Surgery & Cancer at the Presidential and Awards session of the ESGO 2022 Congress in Berlin.
Don’t miss his lecture on translational research!"

Prof. Jonathan Ledermann
Chair of the Congress & Scientific Committee

Award presentation:

Decoding Chaos – analysing the genome of ovarian high grade serous carcinoma.

In his Helga Salvesen Award presentation, Iain McNeish will discuss the genomic biomarkers in ovarian cancer and the challenges of understanding a disease of extreme complexity.




About Prof. McNeish

Iain McNeish is Professor of Oncology and head of the Division of Cancer at Imperial College London. He is also Director of the Ovarian Cancer Action Research Centre at Imperial. He trained in Medicine at Oxford, undertook his PhD at the University of Birmingham and combined training in medical oncology with post-doctoral research at Imperial College London. He was Professor of Gynaecological Oncology at Barts Cancer Institute from 2007 – 2012 and at the University of Glasgow from 2012 – 2017. He leads the BriTROC consortium and his lab focusses on translational research in ovarian cancer.

You may also like


Reasons to Attend

ESGO 2019 webcasts

ESGO 2024

Scientific Programme Highlights


Explore it Now!

WhatsApp Image 2023-10-01 at 17.27.08

Photo Gallery

Great moments from ESGO 2023!


View it Now!



Register Early & Save!


Register Now!